Herefordshire places of interest

Places of interestWelcome to Herefordshire, a county of unspoilt countryside, tranquil rivers, remote valleys and bustling market towns of distinctive character. This wealth of varied landscapes provide unlimited opportunities for a short break or longer stay.

Wilton Court sits high on the Wye, next to the historic bridge into Ross. A ten minute walk will take you into the heart of the town, home to small shops, cafe`s, galleries and antique emporiums, with the ancient market place at the centre of it all. But it is the landscape that is the real star around here and the valley in particular. Seven miles from Ross on Wye is the dramatic Symonds Yat rock towering above the river. Not only does it offer great views of the valley but is one of the best spots to view Peregrine falcons in the UK usually between April and August. The little village beneath it meanwhile is the best place to hire canoes and explore the Wye. The Wyedean Canoe and Aventure Centre (www.wyedean.co.uk Tel: 01594 833238) offer hire, tuition and a guide if required. The Wye Valley walk, all 136 miles of it might be a bit much for a gentle stroll, but there are plenty of shorter circular routes to follow, Cyclists will also think they have died and gone to heaven, with the stunning 30 mile Wye Valley ride offering the most perfect day on two wheels. A full map can be downloaded from www.herefordshire.gov.uk Bikes can also be hired from Pedalaway www.zen95973.zen.co.uk Tel 01989 770357 in Llangarron, 5 miles from Wilton Court.

A lovely 5 mile walk or cycle from Ross on Wye takes you to the pretty village of Goodrich, home of the romantic mediaeval ruins of Goodrich Castle www.english-heritage.org.uk Tel 01600 890538. There are also five walks from 2 to 8 miles starting at Godrich over Coppet Hill incorporating farmland riveside, woodland, openhill and dramatic Wye gorge.

  • Goodrich castle www.english-heritage.org.uk/goodrich Heritage centre with refreshments 01600 890 538
  • Hereford Cathedral, Hereford www.herefordcathedral.org and Mappa Mundi and chained libary exhibition 01432 374202. Has its own tearoom
  • www.mazes.co.uk The amazing Hedge Puzzle Symonds Yat also with Minature Golf and Wye Valley Buttterfly Zoo, Garden centre and refreshments available with picnic areas
  • Brecon beacons and Black Mountains www.breconbeacons.org/
  • Symonds Yat, Wye Valley www.symondsyateast.co.uk
  • Tintern Abbey, Wye Valley www.castlewales.com/tintern.html
  • Clearwell caves, Forest of Dean www.clearwellcaves.com 01594 832 535 Has shop and a tea room for refreshments and lunches
  • Dean Forest Railway, Forest of dean www.deanforestrailway.co.uk
  • Eastnor Castle, Ledbury www.eastnorcastle.com also Landrover Experience eastnor@landroverexperience.com www.malverns.landrover.com
  • Hampton Court Gardens. Leominster www.hamptoncourt.org.uk 01568 797777 Has tea room and restaurant
  • The three choirs Vineyad Newent Restaurant and shop. Wine tastings
  • Broadfield Court Gardens and Vineyard, Bodenham www.broadfieldcourt.co.uk 01568 797483 . Cafe and gift shop. Wine tastings
  • The Weir Garden Swainshill nr Hereford 01981 590509 www.national tuest.org.uk
  • Hellens Manor, Much Marcle 01531 660 504 www.hellensmanor.com
  • Berrington Hall National Trust Leominster 01568 615721 and Croft Castle and Parkland 01568 780141 www.nationaltrust.org.uk Both have tea rooms
  • Hugest croft gardens, Kington www.hergest.co.uk
  • Wye Valley Shipley Gardens and Tea room 01432 870 356 www.herefordshiregardens.co.uk Tea room gift shop
  • Weston`s cider, Much Marcel www.westons-cider.co.uk 01531 660619. Has restaurant and tea room
  • The national bird of prey centre, Newent www.nbpc.co.uk
  • Wye Valley Butterfly Zoo, Symonds Yat www.butterflyzoo.co.uk
  • The Cider Route www.ciderroute.co.uk
  • Nagshead Nature Reserve, Lydney www.rspb.org.uk
  • Wye Valley & Forest of Dean www.wyedeantourism.co.uk
  • Pony Trekking, www.forest-trekking.co.uk